Log in

2019 conference program/agenda


"Our Changing Oceans and Coasts: Driving Innovation in Charting"


Call for Papers Authors are invited to submit abstracts for papers and posters for presentation at U.S. Hydro 2019. The deadline to submit your abstract is October 31, 2018. Topics of particular interest include Hydrographic Sciences and Technology as applied to:

1.       Emerging Software & Technology

2.       Coastal Management & Restoration

3.       Data: Multi-use, Analysis, & Intelligence

4.       Hydrographic Education & Development

5.       International Hydrographic Collaboration

6.       Hydrography for Coastal & Offshore Structures

7.       The Future of Nautical Charting & Ocean Mapping

8.       Hydrographic Project Management/Maritime Law & Policy

We propose that papers be submitted in either APA or IEEE format.  Paper formatting is not mandatory but suggested for professionalism. 

We look forward to learning more about your innovative and engaging conference presentation!

Keynote Speaker  
Rear Admiral Shepard Smith

Bio - RDML-Shepard-Smith-Bio-2016Nov-1.pdf

In both 2015 and 2017 the conference attracted high-level keynote speakers including US Senator Sheldon Whitehouse of Rhode Island and head of the Senate Ocean Caucus; Mr Robert Cardillo, director of the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGA); RADM Gerd Glang, US National Hydrographer and director of NOAA Office of Coast Survey; RADM Timothy Gallaudet, Hydrographer of the Navy and Commander Naval Oceanography and Meteorology Command and Mr. Robert Ward, president, Directing Committee, International Hydrographic Bureau (IHB), Capt. Jorge Viso, America Pilot Association, RADM Shep Smith, NOAA, US Navy and Bill Shedd with the BOEM.

The Opening Ceremony in 2017 included the induction of three renowned Hydrographers into the THSOA Hall of Fame. Dr. David Wells, Jerry Mills and Larry Mayer were recognized for their outstanding contributions to Hydrography over the courses of their careers.

Technical Speaker Coordinator - Vanessa Self Miller, NOAA (vanessa.miller@noaa.gov)