Chapters & Committees

THSOA is a 100% volunteer-based society. We rely on our members to help make us successful. In addition to many folks who are behind the scenes, the below list is who you can contact should you have any specific questions. If you are interested in volunteering, please email [email protected] for available opportunities. Every THSOA member is invited to participate in activities from any chapter.


Latin America



Mid-Atlantic (Washington, DC, Delaware, Kentucky, Maryland, New Jersey, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia) 

Chair Vice Chair Secretary Treasurer
Daniel Wright Deanne Hargrave Sloan Freeman Taylor Krabiel
Sounding Science Atlantic Shores Geodynamics  

Midwest (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin)

Chair Treasurer Secretary
Ed Bailey Jon Arleth Denis Buelow
Northwestern Michigan


New England (Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, and Rhode Island)


Vice Chair - vacant Secretary Treasurer
Samantha Bruce   Peyton Benson Teri Bridges
 Exail   State of Maine QPS
Technical Coordinator

Regional Liaison 

Regional Liaison NH/ME

Regional Liaison 

Vitad Pradith Rick Morton Evan Martzial  
Teledyne Construction




Southeast (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oklahoma, and South Carolina)

Chair & Treasurer Secretary | Education Outreach  Event Coordinator

Mike Nitska

Rachel Bobich

Kim Dailey

HydroTerra Technologies, LLC

RMB GEO Survey Equipment Services, Inc
Technical Coordinator  Student Liaison    

Scott Haydel

Natalie Guess


Ashtead Technology

The University of 
Southern Mississippi



Chair Vice Chair Treasurer Secretary
Alex Spriggs Jake Dumaine   Tiziana Munene
ZUPT  Atlas Professionals   TCarta Marine
Event Coordinator Student Liaison Technical Coordinator  
Rachel Cluthe   Paul Laverty  
STR   Fugro  


West Coast (Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming)

Chair Treasurer Secretary
Mike Mutschler Brian Busey Bob Feldpausch
Norbit   Tetra Tech



Responsible for the creation and maintenance of the organization's bylaws.

Conference Planning
Develops the program for biannual US Hydro Conference. This includes providing topics, reviewing papers, identifying speakers and alternate choices, planning social activities/meals, and more.


Member Relations
Increase membership benefits with engagement, collaboration, and communication.


Professional Development
Coordinates and delivers professional development training and resources for members.

Tom Waddington

Student Outreach & Scholarships
Facilitates THSOA support of students pursuing careers in the Hydrographic industry.